News Page

March 14th Race Date Added


Lonestar Speedway is proud to announce the release of another race date. March 14th will be the official grand opening for Lonestar Speedway. We will be hosting the SUPR Late Models (Southern United Professional Racing Dirt Late Models) along with another class yet to be determined. The SUPR Dirt Late Model Series started in 1990 by racer and promoter Donald Watson, and by former owner of Boothill Speedway, Roxy Dancy. SUPR has grown from the initial campaign of 15 races at five tracks in two states to 2001's schedule of 34 races at 16 facilities in seven states. Most of the series growth came after introduction of economical spec engine in 1993. SUPR celebrated it's tenth year anniversary in1999 with the addition of O'Reilly Auto Parts as title sponsor for the series and in 2007 the O'Reilly SUPR Series has expanded to include a Modified Series. Don’t forget that the World of Outlaw Sprint Cars will be returning to Lonestar on April 10th. Tickets for that show will be available very soon so stay tuned to www.lonestarspeedway.com for more upcoming events and ticket information as the race season nears.

Gearing up for April 10th

Gearing up for April 10th


The Hafertepe’s are working non-stop on the facility and are very excited for the upcoming show on the 10th of April. “Everything is turning out nicely with the track, we are working on tying up some of the loose ends and will be ready here shortly,” said track owner Sam Hafertepe. “There is certainly a lot to do, but we have the right people doing the right things and we can’t wait to compile a schedule for the 2009 Season.” A race schedule has yet to be released for the new Lone Star Speedway, but be sure to stay tuned for an early release. As of now, the World of Outlaws Sprint Cars will be returning to the speedway on April 10th following their West Coast run. Tickets will go on sale very shortly, so be sure to visit the site daily for the information.

World of Outlaw Sprint Cars Return to Lone Star

World of Outlaw Sprint Cars Return to Lone Star


The last time that sprint cars took to the track at Lone Star Speedway was on March 12, 2004 when the World of Outlaws were in town. In fact, that was the last time a race of any kind took place at the blazing fast high-banked half-mile located in Kilgore, Texas. After sitting dormant for the better part of the last five racing seasons, the track will come back to life in 2009 under the guidance of Lisa and Sam Hafertepe Sr., the parents of World of Outlaws competitor Sam Hafertepe Jr.

“We’ve been racing our whole lives and owning a track is something that we always wanted to do,” said Sam Hafertepe Sr. “We knew we couldn’t build one from the ground up, so this was kind of our way of meeting that goal in the middle. It’s a complete family effort. If it wasn’t for my wife (Lisa) we probably would not have bought the track. She has played a very big role in this and has been working very hard and Sammy has been helping a lot as well. It’s certainly been a lot of work, but we’re making progress and we are very excited about it.”

The World of Outlaws first competed at Lone Star Speedway in 1985 with three-time series champion Sammy Swindell picking up the win in that event. He would go on to claim victories in all three races that season for the series at the track. The Tennessee native won the first five events contested by the World of Outlaws at Lone Star Speedway.

“The track is in an area where they don’t get to see sprint car racing all that much, so it will be good for the fans,” said Carson of the World of Outlaws return to Lone Star Speedway. “I’m glad to see the Hafertepe family with the track and they’ll do a good job. It was always a racy track and I enjoyed racing there. It will be good for the series to go back there.”